What is the new cell phone law in Texas?


Due to the increase in distracted driving caused by phones, in 2017, the Texas legislature passed a statewide ban on using any wireless communication device from being used for electronic messaging while operating a motor vehicle. However, the law does not prohibit talking on a cell phone while driving in Texas.

According to the Texas Department of Public Safety, it is not illegal to use your phone while driving except in specific circumstances: reading, writing, or sending any type of electronic message, such as a text, tweet or email.

Read the full answer

Moreover, What are some laws in Texas?

– Distracted driving.
– Marital property.
– Statutes of limitation.
– Death penalty.
– Civil rights laws.
– Tax laws.
– Homestead laws.
– Concealed carry laws.

Secondly, How many laws are there in Texas?

The 85th Texas Legislature has finally concluded, and there are 1,252 new Texas laws on the books. While many of these new laws will affect only a few Texans, some of them will have a big impact on many.

Simply so, What is the new cell phone law in Minnesota?

What can I do under the new law? The new law allows a driver to use their cell phone to make calls, text, listen to music or podcasts and get directions, but only by voice commands or single-touch activation without holding the phone. Remember, hands-free is not necessarily distraction-free.

Can you talk on your cell phone while driving in Missouri?

In Missouri, all drivers can make calls with their cell phone. Other phone use like texting, playing games, or looking at photos is banned for drivers under 21 years of age or those with a commercial license.

16 Related Question Answers Found


What age is considered legal in Texas?


How many laws are there in the US?

It is impossible for anyone to know all of the laws that affect them and it is, therefore, impossible to not break any laws. How many of the 4,450 crimes have you broken?Feb 7, 2013

What are some important laws in the US?

– Civil Rights Act (1964).
– Voting Rights Act (1965).
– Medicare and Medicaid acts (1965).
– Federal-Aid Highway Act (1956).
– Economic Recovery Tax Act (1981).
– National Defense Education Act (1958).
– Tonkin Gulf Resolution (1964).
– Amendments to Immigration and Nationality Act (1965).

Does Texas have its own laws?

In Texas, the state legislature enacts statutes, and state agencies are also given rule-making authority by the legislature. Local governments like municipalities and counties may then enact ordinances within their jurisdictions. The state courts interpret the law.

What are my rights as a 16 year old in Texas?

Minors who are 16 years old or older can consent to their own medical, dental, psychological, and/or surgical treatment if they are living apart from their parents or legal guardians and are managing their own financial affairs.

What’s the legal age in Texas for dating?


What happens if you runaway at 16 in Texas?

The law authorizes police officers to look for runaway 16- and 17-year olds. Police officers who find them may report their location to their parents, refer them to Juvenile Court, take them to an agency that serves children, or keep them in custody for up to 12 hours.

Can you talk on the phone while driving in Canada?

Drivers can use hands-free technology activated by a single touch or pull over in a safe area off the road to talk or text. However, cellphones, GPS systems, and laptops are illegal to use and if caught will result in a fine from $572 to $1275 and four demerit points.

What states is it illegal to talk on your phone while driving?

However, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia (effective January 1, 2021), Washington, West Virginia (plus Washington, D.C., Puerto Rico, Guam

What is the most important law in the US?

The law of the United States comprises many levels of codified and uncodified forms of law, of which the most important is the United States Constitution, which prescribes the foundation of the federal government of the United States, as well as various civil liberties.

Can a 17 year old leave home in Texas?

A 17-year-old is not an adult and cannot leave home without parent’s consent. Whoever, houses that child is subject to a law called enticing a child or harboring a runaway.

Which states still allow texting while driving?

– Alabama.
– Alaska.
– Arkansas (except in emergencies)
– California.
– Colorado.
– Connecticut.
– Delaware.
– D.C.

Last Updated: 5 days ago – Co-authors : 15 – Users : 9


Please enter your answer!
Please enter your name here